“Enjoy Your Cardio”- Said No One Ever

Cardio endurance is one of the most important components of fitness. However, sometimes we skip cardio because it’s boring, or we don’t have time for it, and some people skip it because they believe it is more “manly” to hit the weights and never do cardio.
bored-280x220
I will try to describe the benefits of cardio, my personal experience, as well as some ways to help you enjoy doing it.

Benefits:
Cardiovascular exercises have numerous benefits for the body. If you do cardio before your workout, you would boost up your heart rate, as well as increase the blood circulation through your body. Boosting up your heart rate would give your heart a better connection with the muscles in terms of delivering oxygen, which would help you perform a better workout.
1309-fast-cardio-art

What I like to do:
I personally like to do 10 minutes of cardio (bike or treadmill) before I start my workout to warm up my body, and 30 minutes of running at slower speeds, after I finish with my workout to help my body recovers faster.

How to make it fun?
Try listening to some upbeat songs. Music will have a positive impact in keeping you moving and motivating you not to give up. (Classical music doesn’t help…)
Also, if you’re lucky enough to live in a city with a great weather, try doing some outdoor cardio in your local park, or on the beach if possible, just to change your workout routine.
Finally, try playing soccer, tennis or swimming as they all make great alternatives and would have the same and sometimes more effect than the usual cardio workout, so never be afraid to leave the treadmill!

Daniel Bell (AUS) action reflections Swimming 2000 Sydney PG

Leave a comment